Self-Care, Table for One Please

Will Hebert
3 min readOct 23, 2018

--

This is a taco and you can make one too.

Tonight I made myself tacos. I washed tomatoes, finely chopped onions, sliced the brightest peppers, sautéed fresh veggies, smashed the ripest avocados into guacamole, baked flaky white fish, toasted tortillas and melted the biggest pile of cheese. I stopped, slowed down, and put together the most delectable street tacos that I consumed in five minutes. But, during the cooking process I dialed back my speed. I listened to a tantalizing podcast, set the mood lighting, and poured myself an effervescent lime La Croix. I fed and snacked myself during the whole process. Apron-ed up and all, doing all the modern flirtations for one. This is a move I’ve pulled about a thousand times over in the past…on a date.

However, on this evening I dated myself. I set my ringer to silent, ignored all the texts and notifications, and I got to know myself a little better. Not that I don’t know who I am, but we as humans are always going through growth, change, despair, joy, happiness, you name it. And you might be different than yesterday, last week or a year ago. It is these moments of transition that we need to stop and breathe the most and rely on ourselves.

Dating yourself or as modern society calls it self-care. In a digital age filled with a go-go-go mindset, self-care has never been more necessary. If we do not stop and say no to the constant opportunities that are presented to us, then we are doomed to experience burnout, exhaustion or other toxic patterns. I am a recovering alcoholic and this form of self care is one of my favorites. If I’m not cooking for myself then I’m taking myself on a hike, to a movie, or a museum. Fortunately, I did not know the sober version of myself well at all so this self dating was actually like forming a new relationship, with myself. Everyone should set aside time for solo date night, yourself will thank you.

Embrace every single moment especially the one’s that suck. If for nothing more than improving on upon your solo date game. As I made my way through each step I paid attention to movement I made. Where to place the pan, how to hold the fruit, and how cool it looks to flip veggies on sauté. I tempted myself, seduced myself and I would put out based on those fucking tacos.

Seldom does our society promote slowing down, self-care, or self-exploration as an adult and even more so as a modern man. Through the many different relationships, phases, dating and tinder fails, I have gone through many stages. But, every time I cook for someone else I try to make them feel special and sacred in that moment. As if time is standing still or does not matter. All that matters is the food in front of us, being prepared with a little love and dedication. So date yourself, stay in, complete a task, cook, eat, love and do it as often as you can. You will thank yourself later.

--

--

Will Hebert

Hey, I’m Will a nomadic, outdoor enthusiast, coffee head, runner, and sober guy.